The Ministry of the Mundane

From The Life You’ve Always Wanted:

Let me issue one note of caution: It is generally easier to hear about serving than to actually serve. I know of a woman who, when she was facing an important operation, asked her husband to look after the children over the weekend. He said no, he was going to attend a huge rally for men that would teach them how to live as Christian husbands and fathers. He refused to serve his wife on the grounds that he had to attend a conference where he would be taught and inspired to serve his wife!

Now when I read this I laughed, but it wasn’t until nighttime when I reflected upon my day that I realized how I was committing the very same mistake in my life. Sometimes we come up with resolutions to better serve those around us; yet too often we choose to pass up the little opportunities, waiting for a real opportunity to serve them (perhaps because our efforts are more likely to be recognized). But often, the little things in life are also the ones that matter the most.

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

1 John 3:18

Leave a Reply

